A Purrfect Molly

Back a few months ago, I was deep into distance teaching, realizing I was going to have more time on my hands for the foreseeable future. I decided it was okay for me to start my days off with Lisa Comfort and the Sew Over It team for their weekly Stay Home and Sew Alongs, a brilliant idea to keep her business chugging along and to help many sewers scratch that itch for some social sewing. While in the UK, it is 1pm, here in Texas, they livestream at 7am- just perfect timing before I start my virtual school day.

The first project I joined in on, slightly belatedly, was The Molly Top from My Capsule Wardrobe: City Break ebook. The Molly Top is a tried and true knit pattern for many people, and will hopefully become one for me as well. I love the collar, and it went on so divine! But, what drew me to the Molly Top (aside from the sew along, and the many blog/instagram/vlog posts I’d seen about it) were the two part sleeves. Mine did not come out as defined as I’d wanted- puffier on the bicep, tighter down past the elbow- but the sleeves were so easy to assemble to achieve such an interesting detail. There is also the dress option, which I might look into if I come across an amazing jersey fabric in the future.

The Molly Top is not sold separately from the ebook, but there are other chic patterns included that I would like to try as my skills improve (The Alex Shirt Dress & The Mia Jeans- I’m looking at you!) The patterns in the ebook range from UK 8-20 (US 6-18 for us yanks). I made up my Molly in a straight size 8 with no grading between sizes- My measurements: Bust 33.5″, Waist 29″, Hips 39″, Height: 5’4″.

My Molly came out very close to the pictures of Lisa’s in the ebook and the pattern illustrations. I don’t know why I thought the upper arm would be puffier, maybe it’s an optical illusion!!!

The Sew Over It team’s instructions were very easy to follow from this e-book, however, I did reference peekaboopages.com “How to Sew a Knit Neckband” because the instructions in the pattern for that section were a little vague due to differences in fabric types and the amount of stretch needed. I needed numbers though! I did re-cut a second neckband using peekaboo pages formula: Length of neck opening X .85 + seam allowance. Since making the Molly Top, I’ve sewn a couple of other jersey/knit shirts, and discovered how right SOI was with their disclaimer. Luckily for me, with the second neckband, I only had to stretch the band slightly to get it to fit the neck hole.

I love the length and coverage provided at the bottom of the Molly. There’s commercials nowadays for a company that promises a women’s shirt that won’t ride up when you are doing tasks that require you to kneel and bend. The Molly has this great characteristic as well! I’m a pretty active person, and I hate flashing my undies to unsuspecting passerby while I’m struggling with pulling out weeds in the flower bed, searching bins for the perfect yarn in my local yarn shop, or squatting to pet my dog Maddie on the belly. The Molly has me covered!

Let me take a moment to gush over this fabric. This is the Doodles Cotton Spandex Interlock Knit fabric with blue stripes and kitty faces from Joann (I can’t find it on their website anymore…) ! I got 2 yards on sale for $6.99 a yard! This fabric is so soft, if a little thick. I’m looking forward to the temperatures dropping in about 5 months from now so I can get more wear out of it. It’s a little warm for the Texas heat (especially with long sleeves). I usually avoid “cutesy” fabrics, but I love quirky designs on stripes, I don’t know what it is. Plus, I have all four of my kitties represented on here- solid gray, calico (2 of them!), and a tabby. They look so cute peeking out over the neckband and seam lines! Have to be careful about that pattern placement though- no kitty pasties please!

I really want to make a few more of these tops- it really was quick even for a knit beginner. In an even softer fabric it could be a PJ top. I’ve been drooling over these Art Gallery Fabric floral striped knits on the internet and I’d love to make a sassy version for going out.

Now I feel like I’ve joined “the Molly Club” since I finally got up the courage to try this knit pattern. As I’ve said before, knits were basically considered the devil’s fabric in my home growing up because my mother hated working with them so badly. However, with my trusty walking foot, ballpoint needle, and zigzag stitch, I’m hoping to change that trajectory for my own sewing adventures.

No animals were harmed in the making of this blog post. Annoyed, yes. Harmed, no.

Zenia, the real Master of House

Leave a comment